april cake 2: butterscotch cream roll-up

photo 1

This cake was delicious, light, airy, sweet butterscotch favors complimented so well to the typical easter fare of ham, and potatoes. I found this recipe from this darling book — Vintage Cakes. After the heavy chocolate millionaire’s cake earlier in the week, this was a delightful contrast. I highly suggest you try it out.

photo 3

photo 4

It was a very easy recipe. I’ve never made a roll-up cake before and this was not as scary as I would’ve thought. Definitely have extra eggs on hand, I always seem to crack a little bit shell and or get yolk in when it specifically says eggs whites only.

photo 2

Doesn’t it look like a giant cinnamon roll? Yumm… I am sure you could use the cake as a base to cinnamon roll flavoring & icing. Now that’s an idea I might have to try next…

photo 5

Leave a Reply

