heavy thinking

I’ve been busy. New projects and a few brilliant recent acquisitions to share as well. Before that I wanted to share ideas for the direction of our living and one project I am not as fond of. Above is my kitchen right now, unstyled in all it’s glory.  That one project I thought would be terrific instead left me feeling meh about it — that was the black cabinet doors. Just drew too much attention away. So, a portion of my to-do list includes sanding and painting it back to white.

This image above has great textures and colours. If only I could have those floors. So rich! It’s a sample image for black hardware on darker cabinets. Looks ok, doesn’t it? Below, white subway tile with a herringbone twist.

Two-tone, which I love in grey and white, it even has the pulls I love, but the regular subway tile is just to easy,  I would be more inclined to exaggerate it with mini or giant tiles. The mix of open wood shelving and glass front painted white is terrific though. I might incorporate something similar near our stove, as it is the only place with available wall space.

Beautiful marble herringbone, but way too white. Needs a pop of color, doesn’t it?

I know for sure that these items will be in my future: the lamp (above the sink).

And I’ve ordered a few samples of herringbone in a carrara marble and a calacatta gold marble. I will share a photo when they arrive!

I am pretty excited to see how they might look with either of these pulls, this first is the duluth from restoration hardware, second a cost-friendly martha stewart option. I will try out both, I am concerned that the wrong brass can get a little green and cheap looking. Originally, I had intended to use black (or oil rubbed bronze) to coordinate with the floors, so I may get one of the duluth pulls in the bronze to compare as well. The brass should warm up the neutrals a bit.

That’s what’s swirling around in my brain. Pretty heavy, huh? (wink, wink)

Leave a Reply

